Welcome!

Welcome to Veterans: Lost and Found! Please limit your posts to:

  • Found a dog tag, medal, papers, or uniform of an unknown veteran?
  • Looking for information on a family member or lost veteran?
  • Post your items and information here for others to search!
  • Post pictures, links, and all information you can so others can find it . . .
  • Please, no selling of items or information, or linking to solicitations of any kind.
  • Check out our other blogs:
  • Official Veterans Forum: http://veteransforum.wordpress.com/
  • War Stories: http://pearlharborday.wordpress.com/

Feel free to click ‘Leave a Reply’ at the bottom of the page to post.

2,129 thoughts on “Welcome!

  1. Have found a piece of trench art – bracelet with the name Grace and Art in hearts with a anchor and Figi Islands New Helrider on one side and Gualalcanal – Bogainville on the other – made by a I assume a navy sailor during WWII – any one have a relative that this might belong yo?

  2. I’m not sure that you could ever figure this out without last names or maybe initials but I truly hope someone can help. 🙂
    Navy seems most likely to me as well because of the anchor otherwise Marines since 1) they are Navy 2) Marines would’ve been in these places too.
    I’d sure like to see it though.

  3. looking for info on my late great grandpa. His name was George Tisdale Herndon and was born on Jan 3 1916 in Barren County, Kentucky. He lived in Glasgow, Kentucky and then passed away in 2005 and the information I have is William Louis Bransford Chaplain Commander in the Navy during WWII.

  4. Hi. I am looking for any information and photos on my grandfather from WW2. He is Frederick Bender,T5,
    Co. B, 1262nd Engineer Combat Battalion in the European theater. He served from April 1944 to January 1946. Thanks.

  5. Seeking information on William Riley Gibbs, born Sidnaw Michigan 1914, entered U.S. Army February 1945 and released December 1946. I recently found out he was in WW2. Any information would be helpful. I don’t know what unit he was attached to.

  6. I am just starting research on a family member. PFV Lester “Bud” Duff from Iowa. He was assigned to the 546th AAA BN (Battery A) and enlisted from Iowa. I appreciate any assistance as I begin my research.

    • Google can be your friend here but a few tricks can help in searching.

      First the full name of the unit would be:

      546th Anti Aircraft Artillery Battalion, Automatic Weapons, (mobile).

      You can use a search term in Google like this:

      “546th Anti Aircraft Artillery”|”546th AAA” “Automatic Weapons”|”AW” Battalion

      The | are read by Google as “OR”, so this reads as trying to find
      “546th Anti Aircraft Artillery” OR “546th AAA” AND “Automatic Weapons” OR “AW” AND Battalion

      I would not restrict it to Battery A. The unit was often broken up with the various Batteries assigned to different units.

      After some preliminary searches you can try some of the terms by themselves.

  7. Hello,
    I am looking for any World War II Veterans that would be willing to attend our 242 Marine Corps Ball in the Camp Pendleton area. We would be greatly honored to receive you. If I get any replies or points of contact I can send a formal invitation out. Thank you for your time.
    Please send an email to Cassandra.garcia@usmc.mil

  8. Thank you so much for providing individuals with such a superb opportunity to check tips from this website. It really is so sweet and as well , full of a lot of fun for me personally and my office fellow workers to search your web site at least 3 times every week to read the fresh items you have got. Of course, we are always contented with the unbelievable guidelines you serve. Some 3 facts on this page are in reality the simplest we’ve had.

  9. I’m looking for information on my grandfather and for a place he was stationed during WWII. His name was Kenneth E Mansfield. He was a Boatswain’s Mate in the Navy. During WWI he served on a luxury / cruise ship (yacht?) in St. Thomas. He re-enlisted for WWII probably in Great Falls, MT. Since he re-enlisted with a friend from North Dakota, it’s possible he re-enlisted there. I know he was in Bremerton, WA before his unit deployed.
    He drove landing craft in the S Pacific and spent a lot of time on an island he called Dokey Doke (I’m not sure how it’s spelled). I think that Dokey Doke was probably Doke Doke, New Georgia, Solomon (code word Banana). I think that Doke Doke is also referred to as Doki Doki Island and Ndokendoke Island but I can’t confirm that.
    My father and uncle would be so happy if I could point to Doke Doke on the map. They’d also love any information about the naval operation there. They got a lot of uncensored mail so they knew about what he did but would appreciate information on the actual function of the base.

  10. Looking for information regarding my deceased grandmother, Alice E. Kelley that served in WWll as a nurse in the USNR.

  11. Thank you fr your answer. It’s opened up a whole new avenue for me to explore. My grandfather was in his sixties when he passed away in 1964, It never occurred to me that some of the men he served with might still be alive. I overlooked the fact that he was in his mid forties when he re-enlisted. Most of his unit was probably at least 25 years younger than he was.

  12. Hello! My grandfather, Joseph G Adams, was a member of the Mighty 8th in a bomber group. I believe he was in the 93rd bomb group, but I’m not 100% sure. He most likely would have enlisted in Savannah, GA, or Durham, NC, and I believe his highest rank was Lt. Colonel. If anyone has any information, it would be of tremendous help in my research. Thank you.

  13. Hi, I am looking for information on my father in law Ralph Villa. He was part of the U.S. Army and served with the 7th Infantry Division during War World II. That is all the info we have. Any information will be greatly appreciated.

    • There are two Ralph Villa’s that can be found on the archives.gov website. (You can search the records yourself).

      One, Ralph S Villa, ASN 39743681, was born in 1916 and was a resident of Los Angeles, CA. He enlisted in 1945 at Ft McCarthur, San Pedro, CA.

      The other Ralph Villa, ASN 39936105, was a resident of Silver Bow County, Montana and was born in 1922. He enlisted in 1944 at Ft Douglas Utah.

      Are either of these possibilities? The records have a little more information on the men. (Note the government enlistment records are not complete and not all men who served are in the records.)

      In either case it may be hard to trace much more online. You may need to request further records from the government. There are instructions on how to do this on the archives.gov website.

  14. Hello im looking for info, pix, the name of the deatroyer my grandfather served on in ww2. His name was rowland currier jr, he was a commander, and used to tell stories about how hot the Phillipines were. He was born 10/25/1919 passed 5/22/2002 i think, i still have his uniforms highly decorated tan. And 1 blue thnx again god blessS

    • (Since my original response is still awaiting moderation after three days, here is the basic info without any links.)

      I can find a Rowland Currier, JR 696-47-81 on fold3.com He enlisted in the Navy 9 March, 1942.

      He served on the USS Philip (DD-498) from Dec 1, 1942 until 1946. He appears many times on the muster rolls for the USS Philip.

      He starts a Y3c, Yeoman, 3rd class and works his way up the ranks. In 1946 he is listed as CY(AA)(T). Chief Yeoman (Acting Appointment) (Temporary).

      For information on the USS Philip do a Google search for: “USS Philip”

  15. I can find a Rowland Currier, JR 696-47-81 on fold3.com He enlisted in the Navy 9 March, 1942.

    He served on the USS Philip (DD-498) from Dec 1, 1942 until 1946. He appears many times on the muster rolls for the USS Philip.

    He starts a Y3c, Yeoman, 3rd class and works his way up the ranks. In 1946 he is listed as CY(AA)(T). Chief Yeoman (Acting Appointment) (Temporary).

    Information on the USS Philip:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/USS_Philip_(DD-498)

    http://www.navsource.org/archives/05/498.htm

  16. Hello! I recently found out that my Great Uncle was a “Battling Bastard of Bataan.” His name is PVT. Walter P. Strus and was attached to C Battery, 515th Coast Artillery (Anti-aircraft) from New Mexico. He fought in either Bataan or Corregidor, but was taken POW and spent from 1942-1944 in Cabanatuan PW #1 where he reportedly served as a cook. He boarded the ill-fated Arisan Maru in October 1944 and died when it sank on 24 October 1944. His serial number was: 36105100. His name is inscribed on the Bataan-Corregidor Memorial in Albuquerque, NM. That is all anyone in my family knows of this hero.

    He was originally from Michigan, and born in Pennsylvania. I have googled and done as much research as I can find on him using my own search terms and methods but I’m wondering if someone else may have other ways to find out any other information about him. I would greatly appreciate it, as no one is currently alive (that I know of) that can speak to what kind of a man he was, and it was not recorded by anyone in my family… he is a hero that does not deserve to be forgotten.

    Thank you kindly!

  17. Looking for my grandfather’s service record. His name is jack Kivch jr. I’ve searched the internet and have come up short, I know very little all I know is that he served. Would love to know his history and roll during ww2. Feel free to email me at jkivch@aol.com

    • Jack Joseph Kivch, Jr enlisted on 1 September 1944. His serial number was 38550987. His enlistment record (which can be found on archives.gov) says he had 1 year of high school.

      When he ran for City Council of La Marque in March, 1977 his newspaper write-up mentions he was a graduate of Kirwin High School, Galveston. It says he served in the army as a member of the “Second Armored Reconnaissance Division”. Now there was a 2nd Armored Division and within that division there was an 82nd (Armored) Reconnaissance Battalion. Both units have a long and “storied” history in WWII. Given his enlistment date, he probably did not get overseas until 1945, so he would have been in his “unit”, (whatever it was) for only the last few months of the war.

      You can find a lot on the web regarding the 2nd Armored and the 82nd Recon, but actual rosters are not so easy to find.

  18. I have been trying to find any information on my father, Max H Gholston, who served in the Pacific in WW2. He enlisted late, in 1944, I believe. He was originally from El Reno, Oklahoma, but I believe he enlisted at Wichita, Kansas. He never would talk about it, other than once he mentioned how he despised the Japanese and their early morning banzai charges. I know he was in the Philippines as he fought back a Japanese rifles d some of the Japanese invasion and Occupation currency. I think he might have been in the 40th IDS I have a scrap of paper with 108th IR from a military hospital in Mindinao, PI. I tried the Military Personnel records center but they told me his records burned. I know he was drawing military disability but I have idea as to the extent. I would appreciate any information.

  19. I am trying to find where my father was in combat during WWII. He was USMCR, 1944-1946, serial 533529, Edward Earl Mac Donald from Vermont. I have found a medal that indicates Asian-Pacific front with one bronze star on it. Honorable discharge.

    • Edward E. Mac Donald served with the 4th Pioneer Battalion of the 4th Marine Division. The Campaign Star on his Asia-Pacific Medal was for Iwo Jima.

      • He has an extensive entry in a family tree on Ancestry.com. If you made the tree you can find the USMC Muster Rolls on that site. He is listed on them.

      • Thank you so much for this info. My dad passed in 1991 and never talked much about the war. I know his buddy was Emet Sparks from OK.

  20. Hi, i’m looking for my american grand father Vétéran of WW2, coming from Kentucky. Bob Christian or Robert Christian, based in Nancy in France between 1944 and 1946. My father as born in 1946. And my grand father back to the states in 1946. If you know him or information thanks to write me in belgium, thanks, best regards

    • Raymond Bentley apparently never married and had no children according to trees on Ancestry.com. He died in 1979 in Green Bay. He had several siblings and there are living nieces and nephews.

  21. We are organizing a “Veterans Flight” for WWII Vets on July 7 & 8 in Pensacola, FL. The Vets get a ride in a Stearman aircraft (WWII era biplane) from Pensacola Airport down the beach and out over the Gulf and back. We need to get the word out that all WWII Vets are welcome! Contact details (scheduling, etc.) will be forthcoming.

  22. Looking for info on my biological father, possible siblings. He served in the Navy in WW2. Robert R. McMillan. Born July 24, 1926. Deceased April 11, 1998. Buried in Gotha, Florida. That’s all I know.

    • Hi Anna. Here’s your father’s Find a Grave page. https://www.findagrave.com/cgi-bin/fg.cgi?page=gr&GRid=67654482&ref=acom

      I suggest you call the Orange County, FL library and check to see if an obit was published. It would probably mention if he had any other children. I can help you locate them if you can get that information. All they need is his birth and death date and place of death. According to the info I found, he was residing in Orange County when he passed away. I called the Orlando library and they charge a $30 fee for obit look ups, which is the highest I’ve ever heard of for an obit request. You may want to try calling the libraries listed at this link to see if one of them doesn’t charge such a high fee.(some might not charge a fee at all). Or, if you know someone who lives in Orange County, they can go in person and there’s no charge at all for the look up. https://www.google.com/#q=Orange+County,+FL+library

      If no obit was published, I can probably still help you find cousins, etc.,by using Census records. If you have any siblings, your cousins would be able to tell you. You can email me by using the email address on this page. https://www.findagrave.com/cgi-bin/fg.cgi?page=mr&GRid=67654482&MRid=47397312&

    • There is an obit for him in the April 14, 1998 Orlando Sentinel. It lists several surviving children. You can find it by Googling his name with navy and 1998. Good luck.

    • ROBERT R. MCMILLAN SR., 71, East Kaley Street, Orlando, died Saturday, April 11. Mr. McMillan was a sales counselor at Woodlawn Funeral Home. Born in Orlando, he was a lifelong resident of Central Florida. He was a member of Shenandoah Baptist Church. He was a member of Lions Club and the Lost Dutchman’s Association. He was also a Navy Seal and a veteran of World War II. Survivors: sons, Robert R. Jr., Bruce A., both of Greenville, S.C.; daughters, Kathleen Irwin, Alabama, Sarann, Nashua, N.H., Cheryl, Orlando, Anna Leah, Indiana; mother, Mary E., Orlando. Woodlawn Funeral Home and Memorial Park, Orlando.

    • Luckily, Arthur found his obit on the internet. Anna, if you email me, I can help you find contact info for your siblings if you still need help. I’d prefer not to post their addresses on a public forum.

  23. I have a New Testament Bible that belonged to someone who served in the US Navy Reserve during WW2. He wrote his name in the front: “Robert Leonard Franklin, Ensign, U.S.N.R.” Also in the front he wrote, “November 12, 1943, San Francisco, California”. He served in the Pacific theater – in the back of the Bible he logged what looks like each port of call, many with dates. They start with “Noumea, New Caledonia – December 1943”, “Espiritu Santo (New Hebrides) – January 1944”, etc., ending with, “Honolulu, Hawaii – January 1946”. I have done a number of online searches but haven’t found Robert Franklin or his family. If you know who this is please contact me – I would love to return this Bible.

    • I can find a Robert Leonard Franklin, SN 256859 in some Navy Muster Rolls. He enlisted January 12, 1942.

      On September 1, 1945, as a Lt (jr) he was listed in the muster roll of LCS(L) -39 (Landing Craft Support Ship).

      You can find LCS(L)-39 with Google, but not much history.

      On 31 January, 1944 Ensign Robert Leonard Franklin , SN 256859 was assigned to LCT(5) Flotilla Five (staff) having come from Navy Midshipman’s School, NY.

      You can find a little on LCT(5) Flotilla Five on Google. The unit was in the Pacific.

      Does the bible have his serial number(s)? Since his service started in 1942, he may have started as an enlisted man and would have had a enlisted serial number before becoming an ensign. He would have become an ensign when he graduated from the Midshipman’s School.

      • Thank you so much for your reply. when I looked up LCT(5) Flotilla Five on http://ww2lct.org/history/flotillas/, it showed the war diary of that flotilla which listed where it went. All the sites that it listed were also in the back of this bible, so I suspect you have found the right person and his SN, which should help my searches. I’ll keep looking and will post what I find here. Thanks.

  24. I am trying to track down information regarding my grandfather who served in WWII he is deceased (2003). I don’t know his service number. He served in the US army either 29th or 26th infantry. The info for both of those is practically parallel.His name is Arthur Leonard Erickson, B 14 Feb 1915 and D 8 Mar 2003. What little he shared of his time in Europe, I know that he was present at the liberation or shortly after of a concentration camp and I know it isn’t a well known one like Auschwitz. I also know that he landed on Omaha beach the day after D-day. Again that could be either of the infantry. The key detail is the concentration camp. Wikipedia while not entirely reliable doesn’t mention any concentration camp liberations for the 29th infantry but that doesn’t mean they weren’t part of any. My problem is that in his obituary, it lists him as part of the 29th “yankees” Infantry division. This is the problem because the Yankees are the 26th infantry not the 29th…. See the conundrum. I’ve tried searching every site I can find on military information and find absolutely nothing regarding his existence. Now this is limited by I don’t know where he enlisted. My grandfather and his brother Clarence wanted to be pilots but when told not a chance by the US, they hopped the border and tried to enlist in Canada who immediately sent them back to the US. With no other options, and a need to serve, they enlisted… Presumably out of Cook County, IL. I know after the war he was part of some program that taught labor skills to vets. He learned how to raise chickens. Eventually he became a master carpenter and left IL for Edmonds, WA. He married my grandma in 1948 in Chicago, IL. I do have his Social Security number but there is no record search to cross check that with old service numbers. Can anyone offer some help in finding details. I have done the only thing I can and requested his military records in full from the National Archives. I know he existed. I was privileged to attend a medal ceremony for WWII two weeks before he passed away with him. He has several medals, a purple heart, a bronze star, and the jubilee medal of freedom (might be something named similar). Thank you for your time to read this.

    • Best bet is to contact the local county registrar and hope they may share his discharge papers with his unit on them. In Indiana they sent my Uncle’s to me and that opened the whole thing up for me. In Nebraska they shot me down ony bio grandpa and refused so I still don’t know…

      • While the 26th Infantry Division was involved in a camp liberation, the 26th Division did not get to Europe until September, 1944 (long after D-day). The fact that he had a purple heart makes me wonder if possibly he started in the 29th (which did land at Normandy on June 6 and June 7). He was then wounded. After recovering from his wounds, is it possible he was then assigned to the 26th rather than returning to the 29th? Upon discharge, men were told to file a copy of their discharge papers at their resident county’s courthouse. Not all of them did that, so it is not known if your grandfather filed his or not. Hence Brian’s suggestion.

  25. My late father and grandparents befriended a group of soldiers during WWII in France. Their wishes had always been to get back in touch with them at some point but unfortunately it never happened.
    My grandparents lived north east of Paris, in Crépy-en-Valois (about 60km) and I think the soldiers were based there (circa 1945-1946). My father was 13-14 at the time and was very fond of them. This was also where he developed a love for the English language that he passed onto me. My grandmother used to wash clothes for the soldiers and cook them meals as a welcome change from their army rations. She treasured the coat hangers that were left behind and they are now in my possession. I also have several photographs that I would like to share and get back to the soldiers or their relatives if they are interested. I have a couple of names and references on the coat hangers including: Butzirus, J.R. 35635595 (I think it stands for John Richendollar, from Ohio after doing some research online) and O.T. 9599 (If I use the same serial number at the start and change the last four digits I come across someone called Edward Tharp from Kentucky, but now the first letters do not match). If anyone can help it would be great. Also, if anyone knew the name(s) of the regiment(s) I could try and find out more info.
    I now live Scotland but I still have relatives in France, including a cousin in Crépy-en-Valois who was adored by the soldiers, she was only about 18 months old and everyone’s favourite.
    Thank for any help I can get.

    • You can’t assume the starting numbers of the serial number would be the same. Rather, try this website, which can search on Laundry Marks.

      http://wwii-enlistment.com/search/

      If we try laundry mark T-9599 we get men who’s last names started with T and with the last four digits of the their serial number being 9599.

      The only name with initial O. T. is :
      Tundevold, Ole N. 36159599

      Ole was actually from Michigan and enlisted in the army in 1941.

      He died in 1986. According to his obit in the Battle Creek (Michigan) Enquirer, he spent four years in the army in Iceland and France.
      (I can send you the obit, if needed).

      Here is the obit of his wife, Jean, from 2007.
      http://www.memorialsolutions.com/sitemaker/sites/Putnam1/memsol.cgi?user_id=70048

      Note it mentions their children still alive in Michigan.

      Note sure if we have the right O. T., but it certainly seems possible.

      Using a site such as anywho.com it is easy to come up with possible addresses for the sons.

      Good Luck

    • Here is the obit for Dixie Richendollar, who was John W Richendollar’s wife. The had a daughter Darlene (Richendollar) Meyers who is also deceased.

      RICHENDOLLAR, Dixie J. 79, of Springfield died unexpectedly at 8:52 a.m. Thursday June 28, 2007 in Community Hospital ER. She was born in Miami County, Ohio on June 11, 1928 the daughter of Hayes and Edna (Welty) Winemiller. She attended The High Street Church of the Nazarene. Survivors include two grandsons, Kirk and David Myers; sister Dorothy Jackson all of Springfield; brother, Hayes Winemiller, St. George, Utah and several nieces and nephews. She was preceded in death by her husband John W. in 2004, daughter Darlene Myers, grandson John R. Myers and two sisters Edna Lanum and Doris Dotto. Funeral services will be held at 1 p.m. Monday in the CONROY FUNERAL HOME with Rev. Bill Blain officiating. Visitation will be hour prior to the service. Burial will be in Newcomers Cemetery.

      You would probably want to try and connect with the grandsons, Kirk and David, living in Springfield (at least in 2007).

      I have also posted some information on a possibility for the other soldier (9599) in another post. That post is awaiting moderation as it includes some links.

      • Hello Rolland,
        Thanks for the info. I have looked via Facebook but I feel uneasy about contacting unknown people out of the blue on their personal pages, especially if they have nothing to do with my search/query.
        I also contacted someone from a group (Dan Butzirus as he is the admin of the “Butzirus” group) but I have had no reply (maybe he has not seen my message; it might have gone to the bin straightaway as I am not part of the group). However; I can understand people not wanting to engage with random individuals, as I am very cautious myself.
        I spoke to my mum yesterday and she found a postcard from a soldier called Michael Ingegnere, who was part of the group of soldiers. I looked him up and found his serial number: 31360747. He was from Massachusetts. I also found some info from the 1940 census about his parents and siblings but not much else.
        I would like to share the two group photos I have but I cannot see how to upload them here. If someone could let me know as there might be some clues on the uniforms for someone who knows what to look for. Alternatively I could send them to a private email address if supplied, but there again I am not keen in publicly displaying email addresses.
        Thanks again.

  26. Me and my wife rescued a old trunk that has the name. Franklin w may it was being shipped to fort Wayne in. From my my. Trying to find a way to possible locate family to give it to them. I have tried the gov archives headache. I did find him I think in the 1940 census said he was age 20 then. Any help or suggestions are greatly appreciated thank you.

    • Here is the obit of “a” Franklin W May, who was born in 1920 and grew up in Fort Wayne.

      Note: There is no mention of military service in the obit. He died June 26, 2010.

      anywho(dot)com can easily locate the two sons in Mishawaka, IN

      SOUTH BEND — The Rev. Franklin W. May, 90, formerly of Goshen and Mishawaka, passed away quietly in his sleep Saturday evening at his residence.. Franklin was born March 1, 1920 in Fort Wayne, a son of the late Charles and Ada (Simpson) May. He grew up in Fort Wayne where he graduated from Northside High School. Franklin attended Taylor University in Upland and graduated from Defiance College in Defiance, Ohio, as well as New York Theological Seminary in New York City.. On Sept. 6, 1941, Franklin married Mary E. Wakefield.. She preceded him in death.. The Rev. May served churches in Peoria, Illinois; Sardinia, Ohio; Winona Lake and Hobart, Ind., and Detroit, Mich. His last church was First Presbyterian Church in Mishawaka. He retired in 1985 and the Mays then moved to Goshen. He assisted with visitation ministry at First Presbyterian Church in Goshen. Following the death of his wife in 2004, he moved to South Bend to live closer to his sons.. Over the years, the Mays enjoyed spending time in the wilderness at their cottage in northwestern Ontario, Canada. Franklin was an avid fisherman, played the piano and liked crossword puzzles. In his early years, he was a chaplain for the Civil Air Patrol.. The Rev. May is particularly remembered for his love of pastoral care as well as his excellent preaching.. Franklin’s surviving family includes his three children, Barbara (John) Hrabik of Tucson, Ariz., Stanley (Susan) May and Ronald May, both of Mishawaka; and a granddaughter, Laura (Donald Bergstrom) May of St. Louis, Mo.. Besides his wife, Mary, Franklin was also preceded in death by a granddaughter, Rebecca Kelch; a sister, Lucille Yeske; and an infant brother, Stanley May…..

      Published on June 28, 2010, Goshen News.

  27. Nathalie,

    Regarding the photos, you could upload them to a photo sharing site, for example Photobucket and then post the link to the photos here. Note: when your message has a link, it goes through “moderation” before being posted and that may take a while.

  28. I’m looking for info on my late grandfather. If anyone has more information about his time in the military that would be great!

    Donald Ashley Coleman

    Born in Eastman, GA July 9th, 1924

    Was in the US Air Force Cadets July 28th , 1943 until being honorably discharged in 1946.

    Served stateside until just after the war ended in 1945

    At one point was stationed in Allegheny County, Pennsylvania and Harlingen, TX.

  29. Hello!

    I am trying to find any members of the 581st Ordnance Ammunition Company, stationed in my father’s home town in Cornwall, UK in September 1943. There were 176 members under the charge of CAPTAIN JAMES BOSSON at the time. Any information or tips would be really appreciated.

    Thank you!

  30. Looking for WW2 Navy veteran Gerald Skinner, was in Norfolk VA. 1941-1942? May have had a female friend named Beatrice.I know this isn’t much to go on but it’s very important. Thank you for any info you may have.

  31. Looking for information on my father George Allen Peters, from Georgia. He was in the Army and fought in the Battle of the Bulge. Birthdate was August, 1924. Had a brother who was also in WWII, J. C. Peters.

  32. Hello all
    I found a dog tag with my metal detector in Texas. Belonged to a Soldier from World War 2. I believe it is dated 1943 from my research.
    His name is John D. Wilson. The dog tag says his next of kin Mrs. John D. Wilson of Montrose, PA. I do not know if he is still alive, but if he has a son or daughter or grandchild who would like it as a keepsake I can mail it to them.

      • Serial Number is 01824834. If you have access to a site that you can run this number it would be quite helpful. There are many Veterans with that name who were in World War II.

    • According to records on ancestry.com his full name was John Denniston Wilson. He died in 1991. His wife died in 2006. Good nrws is that ha had three children one of whom made the family tree. I will try to contact her on ancestry.com to connect you.

      • Arthur,
        Thank you for the assist. I just wanted to get this dog tag to family members who will appreciate it. Having a keepsake like this would be more meaningful to them than to me.
        David

      • David, it looks like Arthur is trying to make the family contact. Just a little info on John D Wilson. He was born in Scranton, PA in 1917. He was the son of Doctor. He enlisted in the New York National Guard in 1941 and at that point had serial number 20241309. He later became an officer in the Army of the United States (AUS) and received his officer serial number 01824834. He may have been a 1st Lt when he left active service in 1946. He went overseas in August, 1945 and returned to the US in January, 1946 so I do not think he saw any combat. His wife’s name was Shirley. In 1950, when he was applying for PA veteran compensation, they had a daughter, Wendy Scott born around 1946. They were living in Ohio. His mother, Helen, was living in Montrose, PA. Also by 1950 his father, John D Wilson (Sr) had died. His mother, Helen (Mott) Wilson died in 1977.

      • Rolland,
        Many thanks for the help. I am convinced the area I found the dog tag A. Was an area of some sort of training during World War 2, and/or
        B. Was an area that World War 2 Soldiers would enjoy camping and
        swimming . I’ve researched that many Soldiers went through training at Camp Swift in WW2 and had weekend passes to come to Austin, TX. Also there were many Soldiers at Camp Mabry in Austin as well at that time.
        Any idea if he was stationed at Camp Swift or Camp Mabry?

      • I don’t know about Camp Swift. I found a PA newspaper article from 18 February 1944 (when he and his wife were visiting his mother Helen), which says he had been stationed at Camp Hood, Texas for several months and was going to Camp Shelby MS next week.

      • Rolland,
        Thank you once again! Camp Hood was established January 1942 and is now Fort Hood, Texas, America’s largest military installation. It is 80 miles north of Austin, Texas.
        John Wilson must have come to Austin at some point, likely for some R and R.

      • David I found another newspaper article which says he was commissioned 2nd Lt at Camp Hood (around March/April 43). He was attending the Tank Destroyer Officer Training School. Not sure if he stayed there until Feb 1944 or went somewhere else and then back to Hood.

      • Rolland,
        This makes perfect sense. The dog tag is definitely from 1943 based on its format and his service number would have changed when he became an officer. He must have received it 1943 at Camp Hood.
        David

      • David, I am not sure how Arthur’s search is going. It certainly would be better to find John’s children, but (maybe as a backup) Helen Marian Wilson was John’s sister. You can find her obit if you search for:

        “Helen W Ely” Tunkhannock

        I would give you the link but then this reply goes into moderation and that can take days.

        Listed in the obit is a son of Helen’s, living in CT. An address for him, (a nephew of John) is easy to find using anywho.com

        Good Luck

      • Arthur,
        Have you made contact with the daughter of John Wilson?
        Respectfully,
        David G.

  33. I am looking to identify the man in the photo the men are holding. My father took this photo as part of his serving in WWII as a photographer. I have a copy of the photo in an 8×10, as well. How do I post the photo?

  34. I am looking for information about PVT Arthur Joseph Wright, 749 Med Tank Battalion WWII, European theatre.

  35. I am beginning a search on my Grandfather, Daniel P Kaczmarek, who served in the military during WWII- he enlisted out of Milwaukee, Wisconsin…so far, I know his army serial number and I know he came through Normandy and fought in France in the army, but I’m trying to find out what company or battalion he was with to fill in some pieces…what are some good resources to use in my search for his military journey? Many thanks!

  36. I am looking for information on my grandfather who served in the navy in WWII. His name is Calvin Coolidge Boyd 02/12/26

    • I found some navy Muster Roll records on fold3.com for “a” Calvin Coolidge Boyd who enlisted in Roanoke, VA on 22 Jun 1943. His serial number was 6596391.
      Might that be him?

      He served in a unit called ACORN fourteen. ACORN units were airfield construction units and ACORN fourteen served in the Pacific. He was with the unit from September 1943 to April 44. It is not clear where he went after that.

      Do a google search using: “Advance Base Units–LIONS, CUBS, ACORNS”
      to learn a little about ACORNS.

      • Rolland,
        Thank you so much for finding this information. That would be him. The problem I have is he went off the grid after he divorced my grandmother and nobody else has ever heard from him.

    • What is your grandmothers name? There are a couple people by that name on ancestry.com. where were they from?

  37. Hi, I am researching my father’s (PFC Joseph Martin Hines) time in 1St Bn, 24Th Marines. 4Th Marine Division. During the war, he was part of an all Marine variety show called Just “4” Fun. My father played the clarinet and sang, and I have 1 or 2 professional photos of the group. Apparently, they toured the Pacific entertaining other Marines and perhaps additional branches of the service. It seems like some record of the group must be contained in archives somewhere. I live in the Washington, DC, area and could visit any number of research libraries here. I am familiar with the battles he was in, and his training on Parris Island. But I would really like to know more about Just “4” Fun. My Father died in 1964 so I know nothing of his service from him.

    • If you do a Google search using: “Just 4 Fun” 4th Marine

      you get several hits. Nothing specific about your dad but some background on the revue “Just 4 Fun”. There was a dance band, a skating act, etc. a real variety show for the troops.

      I could give you links, but then this response goes into moderation which takes time.

    • On the site 1stbattalion24thmarines.com in a section called “training” it says: The division formed a variety show – the “Fubar Follies” – which, when augmented with additional acts and the 24th Marines’ Band, became the “Just 4 Fun Show.” The performers toured the “foxhole circuit,” entertained Marines on Kwajalein, Saipan, Tinian, and Guam, and became the best-known service troupe in the Pacific.

  38. I am trying to help my Dad find some of the guys he was with in WWII.
    Army unit: BtryC, 451 AAA Aw Bn. He served in Europe and North Africa.
    His name is Donald J Rogers, known as DJ to his army buddies!
    Thanks, Joanie (Rogers) Petersen

  39. I’m writing a book about a ww1 and ww2 vet by the name of Hans Hornbostel. He survived the Bataan Death March (at age 60) and three years at Cabanatuan, O’donnel and Bilibid. His wife, Gertrude, and kids, Gertrude Jr, Earl and Johanna were all in Santo Tomas. I would appreciate any information on them. Thank you.

    • It would be helpful to know what information you already have or resources you have been through.

      • I have been researching for about 5 years now and have a lot on Hans. I have his WW1 records, but his WW2 records were destroyed in the fire of ’73. He rejoined the army in the Philippines on December 8th and was put with the 202nd Philippine Engineers, otherwise known as Casey’s Dynamiters. He was one of the oldest survivors of the march. I have very little on his time as a prisoner, other than he was at Bilibid when he was liberated. I was hoping to find some info on his and his family’s time as guests of the emperor. I have been to several archives, read many books, and have found 3 3″ binders full of stuff from the web about much of his life. Thanks for the suggestion.

  40. Looking for anyone who knew my dad, Robert Eugene Furlong. He was wounded and spent time in hospital in Germany. His records were lost in the fire in 1973.

Leave a Reply

